Investing in our Future: 2019 Randall Smith Memorial Scholarship Recipients

The Randall Smith Scholarship award was established to commemorate the spirit of OCPAA founder (and former Santa Ana College Student Body President) Randall G. Smith and his love of politics and dedication to governmental relations, as well as his reputation of fairness, trust, and high ethics.  The $1,000 Scholarship is annually awarded to three different Santa Ana College students majoring in Political Science, Public Affairs, Communications, or Journalism, who demonstrate academic excellence.  This year’s deserving recipients include:

Maria and Victoria (pictured left to right)


Maria del Carmen Gomez Luna
A former member of the student Senate, Maria currently serves as President of Santa Ana College's School of Continuing Education Associated Student Government. After graduation next fall, the Santa Ana resident hopes to enter either UCI or California State Fullerton to complete her B.A. degree in either Communications or English and become a teacher.

Victoria Silva
A resident of Buena Park with a strong interest in politics and government, Victoria will enroll at California State University, Dominguez Hills this fall, where she plans to major in Political Science.

Christian Laurent
Christian balanced his studies with service on Santa Ana College's Fire Academy while working as an EMT with American Med Ambulance. The Newport Beach resident with a passion for public service hopes to one day serve as a full-time firefighter.